Policy Advisory Board

The Tackling Transfer Policy Advisory Board will challenge the status quo and make strong and clear recommendations for state transfer policy that will lead to equitable transfer student outcomes.

Board members include:

Marty Alvarado
California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office

Ron Anderson
Minnesota State Colleges and Universities

William R. Crowe
Charles A. Dana Center at the University of Texas, Austin

John Fink
Community College Research Center at Columbia Teachers College

Maria Hesse
Arizona State University

Cheryl Hyman
Arizona State University

Shirleatha Lee
University of South Carolina Upstate

Sharon Morrissey
Virginia Community College System

Elena Quiroz-Livanis
Massachusetts Department of Higher Education

Jessie Ryan
Campaign for College Opportunity

Shanna Smith-Jaggars
Ohio State University

Chris Soto
Connecticut State Department of Education

In July 2021, the Board released recommendations for systems change, with an emphasis on state, system, and federal policies, designed to challenge the status quo, dismantle inequitable transfer policies, and build a new approach to transfer and recognition of learning.

The Board published three opinion editorials in summer 2020 in national media outlets that target higher education leaders and policymakers, including Diverse Issues in Higher Education, The Hill, and Route Fifty.

For questions regarding the Tackling Transfer Policy Advisory Board, please contact Lara Couturier.